The Department is structured into three technical divisions, that is, Tourism Policy Planning and Strategy, Tourism Product Market Development and Tourism Relations Division.
Twenty one (21) Officers are based at the Headquarters to perform the technical duties of the Ministry.
To effectively execute its mandate, the Directorate is structured into three Divisions whose specific functions are highlighted here below:

Tourism Policy Division
Objectives of the Division

  • Formulation and implement the National Tourism Policy
  • Formulate  and oversee the implementation of  the National Tourism Strategy every five years
  • Implement Tourism Satellite Account project
  • Participate in the implementation of Vision 2030 Sector Plans
  • Initiate the development of National Tourism Master Plan
  • Develop a framework for tourism development and management planning to inform county tourism development
  • Develop Integrated Tourism Area Development Plans to enhance uniformity and sustainable use of shared tourism resources across Counties

Tourism Relations Division
Objectives of the Section

  • Development and implementation of Memoranda of Understanding (MoUs) and Agreements of Co-operation between Kenya and other countries on tourism issues.
  • Establish joint commissions for the implementation of the MoUs and Agreements
  • Development and implementation of multilateral agreements
  • Participation in the United Nations World Tourism Organization (UNWTO) policy decision making processes
  • Implementation of the United Nations World Tourism Organization (UNWTO) resolutions and policies
  • Collaborate with other UN specialized organs such as UNEP, UNDP, UN-HABITAT, UNCTAD, ILO, etc.
  • Ensure Kenya’s tourism interests are well taken care of within the EAC and other regional economic blocs such as COMESA, NEPAD, etc.
  • Facilitate and coordinate international  and local tourism trade negotiations
  • Mainstream into the tourism sector, tourism-related statutes, protocols and conventions to which Kenya is a signatory such as CITES, UNFCC, WTO, etc.
  • Coordinate Inter-ministerial engagement to address cross-cutting issues including security, infrastructure, energy, environment, etc that affect tourism
  • Coordinate Multi-Stakeholder forums for the purpose of interaction, sharing information and ensuring harmonization of tourism development
  • Identification and promotion of  programs and projects for Public Private Partnerships (PPPs) to enhance sustainable development of the tourism sector.
  • Coordinate development and implementation of Tourism Crisis Management Strategy
  • Establish and oversee the management of Tourism Sector Safety, Communications and Crisis Management
  • Centre in collaboration with the government agencies and other stakeholders such as Kenya Wildlife Service and Kenya Tourism Federation
  • Enhance collaboration between relevant Government security agencies, private sector and local communities in provision of security and safety to both hosts and visitors.
  • Liaison with Tourism Police Unit in matters of tourism security
  • Monitoring of travel advisories and respond to emerging threats.
  • Ensure continuous training on safety and security matters in the tourism industry

Tourism Product Development Division.

  • Formulate strategies for effective tourism product development and diversification
  • Promote and encourage the development of diverse tourism product across the supply chain focusing on value addition.
  • Promote modern and cost effective uptake of e-tourism
  • Undertake tourism marketing intelligence research and market analysis to inform marketing policies and strategies
  • Produce, document and disseminate of tourism products  and services information
  • Establish Tourism Information Centers and signages.
  • Sensitize and create awareness on tourism products development   for  SMEs in Tourism.